AIA CES Credits
AV Office
Abstract Publication
Academic Affairs
Academic Calendar, Columbia University
Academic Calendar, GSAPP
Admissions Office
Advanced Standing Waiver Form
Alumni Board
Alumni Office
Anti-Racism Curriculum Development Award
Architecture Studio Lottery
Avery Library
Avery Review
Avery Shorts


STEM Designation
Satisfactory Academic Progress
Skill Trails
Student Affairs
Student Awards
Student Conduct
Student Council (All Programs)
Student Financial Services
Student Health Services at Columbia
Student Organization Handbook
Student Organizations
Student Services Center
Student Services Online (SSOL)
Student Work Online
Studio Culture Policy
Studio Procedures
Summer Workshops
Support GSAPP
This website uses cookies as well as similar tools and technologies to understand visitors' experiences. By continuing to use this website, you consent to Columbia University's usage of cookies and similar technologies, in accordance with the Columbia University Website Cookie Notice Group 6

The Master of Architecture program is accredited by the National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB) and as per https://www.naab.org thereby does meet the academic requirements for licensure in all 50 states.

Please note: states may have additional requirements to sit for the Architecture Registration Exam (ARE).

Date of Last Revision: June 2020

In the United States, most registration boards require a degree from an accredited professional degree program as a prerequisite for licensure. The National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB), which is the sole agency authorized to accredit professional degree programs in architecture offered by institutions with U.S. regional accreditation, recognizes three types of degrees: the Bachelor of Architecture, the Master of Architecture, and the Doctor of Architecture. A program may be granted a eight-year, three-year, or two-year term of accreditation, depending on the extent of its conformance with established educational standards.

Doctor of Architecture and Master of Architecture degree programs may consist of a preprofessional undergraduate degree in architecture for admission. However, the preprofessional degree is not, by itself, recognized as an accredited degree.

Columbia University Graduate School of Architecture, Preservation and Planning offers the following NAAB-accredited degree program: - M. Arch (non-preprofessional degree + 108 credits)

Next accreditation visit: 2021

The following NAAB documents are available publicly on the NAAB Public Information page.

  • 2009 NAAB Conditions for Accreditation and 2012 Procedures
  • Visiting Team Report (2013)
  • Confirmation Letter from NAAB (2013)
  • Annual Reports
  • Architecture Program Report (2012 - 2013)