AIA CES Credits
AV Office
Abstract Publication
Academic Affairs
Academic Calendar, Columbia University
Academic Calendar, GSAPP
Admissions Office
Advanced Standing Waiver Form
Alumni Board
Alumni Office
Anti-Racism Curriculum Development Award
Architecture Studio Lottery
Avery Library
Avery Review
Avery Shorts


STEM Designation
Satisfactory Academic Progress
Skill Trails
Student Affairs
Student Awards
Student Conduct
Student Council (All Programs)
Student Financial Services
Student Health Services at Columbia
Student Organization Handbook
Student Organizations
Student Services Center
Student Services Online (SSOL)
Student Work Online
Studio Culture Policy
Studio Procedures
Summer Workshops
Support GSAPP
This website uses cookies as well as similar tools and technologies to understand visitors' experiences. By continuing to use this website, you consent to Columbia University's usage of cookies and similar technologies, in accordance with the Columbia University Website Cookie Notice Group 6

Future Anterior

Future Anterior is a peer reviewed scholarly journal published twice a year by the University of Minnesota Press.

The journal approaches historic preservation from a position of critical inquiry, rigorous scholarship, and theoretical analysis. Future Anterior is an important international forum for the critical examination of historic preservation, spurring challenges of its assumptions, goals, methods, and results. As the first journal in American academia devoted to the study and advancement of historic preservation, it provides a much-needed bridge between architecture and history.

The journal also features provocative theoretical reflections on historic preservation from the point of view of art, philosophy, law, geography, archeology, planning, materials science, cultural anthropology, and conservation.

Future Anterior is essential reading for anyone interested in historic preservation and its role in current cultural and theoretical debates. Here is an index to the contents of past issues.

Founder and Editor: Jorge Otero-Pailos

Editorial Board:

Thordis Arrhenius

Erica Avrami

Barry Bergdoll

Jean-Louis Cohen

Andrew Dolkart

Andrew Herscher

Mark Jarzombek

Dominique Poulot

Laurajane Smith

Marc Treib

Aron Vinegar

Gwendolyn Wright

Articles from Volumes 1-4 can be accessed below, while Volumes 5-present can be accessed via Project MUSE