All graduating students are encouraged to submit a study proposal for a postgraduate William Kinne Fellows Traveling Prize. Any student graduating in May 2017, October 2017, or February 2018 may apply. Winning proposals are announced at Commencement.

The deadline for submission of proposals is Friday, April 14, 2017 at 10:00 AM. Submit your proposals via the online application site here.

Proposals must include sufficient background material to permit evaluation by someone who may not be entirely familiar with the subject matter. Applications should include a title, a one paragraph abstract, an illustrated description of the research project including specific objectives and end products (not to exceed 4 to 5 pages), a short bibliography, a budget, and any additional supporting documents, such as research contacts. All material should be combined into one PDF and uploaded via the application site. Only one proposal per student will be considered. Joint proposals by two students will be accepted. Up to $2,500 per person may be requested.

Proposals are judged on the basis of their academic merit and the perceived ability of the applicant to successfully complete the study. Previous award recipients have submitted a small collection of digital images to the School upon their return; such contributions after travel are welcomed and appreciated. A file of proposals from previous years is available in the Dean's office, 402 Avery Hall. These past proposals may be reviewed during weekday working hours but may not be photographed or removed from the fourth floor of Avery Hall.

The guidelines are deliberately left open to encourage a variety of endeavors. Consultations with members of the faculty Kinne Committee about the fellowship are allowed. Awards are given only for proposals that clearly demonstrate the potential for excellence; the faculty is under no obligation to award grants solely for the purpose of dispensing funds. The School hopes eligible students recognize the great opportunity associated with this unique prize, and will give it serious consideration and effort.

Faculty Committee: Mario Gooden, Mimi Hoang, Patrice Derrington, Jorge Otero-Pailos, Leah Meisterlin, Mark Wasiuta, Enrique Walker