Master of Architecture Program Requirements


Please note: If you are not eligible for History or Architectural Technologies advanced standing / waiver, the following are the required classes for MArch first year students. (The GSAPP does not offer advanced standing or a waiver for Visual Studies).

Course Sequence Fall Term1 Spring Term2 Fall Term3 Spring Term4 Fall Term5 Spring Term6
Design Studio
6x9pts = 54pts
Core Studio I Core Studio II Core Studio III Advanced Studio IV Advanced Studio V Advanced Studio VI
Architectural Technologies
6x3pts = 18pts
Architectural Technology I Architectural Technology II Architectural Technology III, Architectural Technology IV Architectural Technology V Architectural Technology VI Distribution  
6x3pts = 18pts
History of Architecture I History of Architecture II Distribution 1 Distribution 2 Distribution 3 Distribution 4
Visual Studies
2x3pts = 6pts
  Visual Studies II: Architectural Drawing & Rep II   Visual Studies Elective    
2x3pts = 6pts
Visual Studies I: Architectural Drawing & Rep I       Professional Practice  
2x3pts = 6pts
          2 Electives
Total 108pts 18pts 18pts 18pts 18pts 18pts 18pts

National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB)

In the United States, most state registration boards require a degree from an accredited professional degree program as a prerequisite for licensure. The National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB), which is the sole agency authorized to accredit U.S. professional degree programs in architecture, recognizes three types of degrees: the Bachelor of Architecture, the Master of Architecture, and the Doctor of Architecture. A program may be granted a 6-year, 3-year, or 2-year term of accreditation, depending on the extent of its conformance with established educational standards.

Master of Architecture degree programs may consist of a pre-professional undergraduate degree and a professional graduate degree that, when earned sequentially, constitute an accredited professional education. However, the preprofessional degree is not, by itself, recognized as an accredited degree.

Columbia University, Graduate School of Preservation and Planning offers the following NAAB-accredited degree programs:

M. Arch. (non-pre-professional degree + 108 credits)

Next accreditation visit: 2019 (pending)

The American Institute of Architects (AIA)
National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB)
National Council of Architectural Registration Boards (NCARB)
The American Institute of Architecture Students (AIAS)

The following documents are available in the Dean's Office (402 Avery):

2009 NAAB Conditions and Procedures
Visiting Team Report (2007)
Confirmation Letter from NAAB (2007)
Annual Reports
Architecture Program Report (2012 - 2013)